Your Preferred Online Music Store!

account 0 Items
over $80
Select Page

Concerto in B-flat Major for Violin and Orchestra No. 1 KV 207


Mozart composed the majority of his works for solo string instruments and orchestra during the years 1773 to 1779. Especially important in this context are the years 1773 and 1775, which witnessed the creation of the five concertos for violin and orchestra as well as several single movements for the same scoring. The reasons for this flourish of activity in this domain lie partly in the fact that Mozart, who still occupied the post of concertmaster to the Prince-Archbishop, was either obliged or inspired to provide such works for special occasions during this long period spent in Salzburg. But another reason was certainly the possibility of experimenting with all the new compositional techniques acquired during his third trip to Italy and his stay of several months in Vienna from July to September 1773.

In stock

Publisher: Barenreiter Urtext
Product Code: BA 4863a
SKU: 9790006457762 Categories: , , , ,