Your Preferred Online Music Store!

account 0 Items
over $80
Select Page

Franz Liszt: Complete Piano Transcriptions from Wagner’s Operas

$27.50 $5.00

B-stock items are unused but they have some physical foxing or light stains on the book covers. The content is however intact and completely useable.


15 brilliant compositions (1842-1882) on themes from ‘Rienzi,’ ‘Flying Dutchman,’ ‘Tannhäuser,’ ‘Lohengrin,’ and other Wagnerian favorites.

176 pages

Liszt’s reputation as the supreme pianist of the 19th century, and possibly of all time, has overshadowed many of his other achievements. It is less well known, for example, that Liszt both championed the music of other composers and transcriptions of Beethoven’s Pastoral Symphonie Fantastique.

After Liszt’s retirement from the concert stage in 1847, his attention turned increasingly to composition. His admiration for the music of Richard Wagner led him to promote Wagner’s operas as well as to compose piano transcriptions from many of them. The present volume presents all fifteen of these compositions, dating from 1848 to 1882. Full of familiar melody and brilliant pianist, they are masterful transformations of Wagner’s great opera themes into unforgettable music for the piano. the compositions included are:

  • Fantasy on Themes from Rienzi,
  • Spinning Chorus from the flying Dutchman
  • Overture to Tannhauser
  • Recitative and romance evening star from Lohengrin
    • I: Entry of the guests from Tannhauser
    • II: Elsa’s Bridal processions from Lohengrin
  • From Lohengrin
    • I: Festival and bridal song
    • II: Elsa’s dream
    • Lohengrin’s Admonition
  • Pilgrim’s Chorus from Tannhauser Isolde “Am Stillen Herd” from Die Meistersinger
  • Valhalla from Der Ring des Nibelungen
  • Solemn March to the Holy Grail from Parsifal

In stock

Publisher: Dover Publications
Product Code: 9780486241265
Author/Composer: Liszt


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.